DIY Picture Frame Lantern 

img_4152-1

To start off I want to mention how much I love farmhouse style. But let’s all be honest if your on a budget and aren’t finding pieces at local thrift stores and small shops they are out of this world expensive. I love the look of lanterns and the wood ones but they can cost anywhere from $25 and up. And yes $25 is a not lot but for a lantern to me it is plus the cheaper you go the small it is. So I went and made my own lantern and you wouldn’t image how much for… guess… just guess… oh alright I’ll tell y’all! $4! And I’ll tell you how!

Materials:

  • 4 picture frames
  • Cardboard
  • Hot glue gun
  • Paint
  • Paint brush

Now size is all up to you. But I went to my local dollar tree store and just bought 4 black picture frames. I picked one that was a cute style frame and not to big.

Now I will later on try making a lantern out of wood but for my first one, I think is came out great.

Now first, you remove the backings and the glass. After that you remove the metal pieces that hold the backings in. You don’t want those showing through.


Next is paint time


Since the picture frames I picked were black, and I found this cute pink color at Home Depot in the oopsie pile for 50¢ I decided to try it out

P.S: ALWAYS LOOK IN THE OOPIES PILE IN THE PAINT DEPARTMENT IN HOME DEPOT, NEVER KNOW WHAT COLOR YOU MIGHT FIND FOR CHEAP!

Next you hot glue the glass in and then start hot gluing the frames together to make your box.


Now don’t do what I did and forget to paint the inside. Paint the inside before gluing! Since you can see the inside I forgot to paint it and ended up having to paint it after I glued it.

P.S also paint your cardboard!

Cut a piece of cardboard to size for the bottom this piece is very important it is what will keep your frames in place and from shifting after you glue them. It will also give your candles a place to sit.

Once your cardboard pieces is glued on your all done.

Hope you enjoyed

this blessed house

img_5553-3

Leave a Reply

