DIY Wooden Clock

Welcome back. And Happy Friday everyone! Today I have a DIY I think y’all will like. I have been looking for a clock for my apartment for a while. It wasn’t really for time but for the look. I just love the wood distressed clock look. But the price tags on any that I came across was just jaw dropping. They go for anywhere from $60 and up. I wasn’t about to spend that much on a clock!


So I made my own. Depending on what materials you might already have lying around this project can be anywhere between $12-$20! Much better right?!

Materials:

  • Wood(you can buy a circle or make your own)(or make it a square)
  • Stain
  • Paint
  • Pencil
  • Ruler
  • Stencil(I made my own out of paper!)
  • Sand paper or sanding block
  • Clock hands(mine currently doesn’t have these but you can easily add them later on!)

Now I went to The Home Depot and bought a Circle wood that’s 1in x 17- 3/4. It’s only $6.48! And then got myself some stain. I had stain already at home but this project I wanted a different color.


I went with the classic gray color and boy do I love the color! I love how the brown grain of the would shows through. You only need a small can if your buying new stain. I only did one coat and it came out perfect.


After you stain the wood and let it set in. (1 hour at least!) I went ahead and started painting. But before I painted and even before I stained I made the marks where the number should go.

It took quite awhile and a lot of math… Oddly enough. But I wanted to make sure my numbers were as equal as possible.


I started by finding the middle and worked my way around the circle. Measured from side to side to figure out where the numbers would go. Once I had all the lines of where the numbers needed to go I drew on a piece of paper the numbers so I wouldn’t mess up on the wood.

I cut them out and then placed them on the wood and drew over the lines so I’d leave a indent in the wood. So later on I knew where the numbers went and it made it a whole heap better.

Now you can use stencils in this situation so you don’t have to go through all the math and just eye ball it. (Just do numbers 12, 3, 6 & 9 first) but I didn’t have any stencils and I didn’t want to spend the extra money on an item I was only going to use once. But once you have indented all the numbers into wood is where the fun part comes. Staining and painting.


Now once you done staining and painting you can add your clock arms. But like I said my clock at the moment doesn’t have them. I will add them later on but at the moment I don’t have them.

Another option is you can sand the numbers after you have painted them. I personally love the distressed look. So I just grabbed a sanding block and sanded away. Once I got the desired look I just wiped off the excess dust and walla it was done. Now this is personal preference and is not a needed step.

Now your done! You can put it against a wall and prop it up. Or you can get a pack of sawtooth hangers and hang it on the wall


These come in a pack of three from Walmart for about $2.

So I hope y’all enough and I’d love to see your clocks if you make one!
Happy Friday

From This Blessed House!

Jessica

2 thoughts on “DIY Wooden Clock

Leave a Reply

